Mungai and the Goa Constrictor: All Reviews

“A Fable That Packs a Powerful Punch”

By Claudia Moss – “TheGoldenGoddess” 

(Clarkston, Georgia United States)
5. 0 out of 5 stars  
This review is from: Mungai and the Goa Constrictor (Kindle Edition) March 3, 2012

Kudos for Amelia Curzon and her impressive fable, “Mungai and the Goa Constrictor”!

Like the other reviewers of this work, I haven’t read ananimal fable in years. The last I enjoyed was a film of “Charlotte’s Web” and a while before that, I read and taught “Animal Farm.” Truly, Curzon crafts an unforgettable story that speaks to the soul, reminding us to think for ourselves, to look inward for inspiration that drives us in life and to fearlessly turn back if we find ourselves heading down a path that doesn’t feel right.

Readers, this is a story for older children and, perhaps, keenly intelligent 12 to 13-year-olds. The vocabulary will send young readers running for a dictionary, although that is a good thing. The web of intrigue the mysterious Mungai and his sidekick Goa set for the charmingly sweet, albeit gullible, creatures is what could happen Anywhere in the Universe, if people do not learn to look beyond slick words and ill-wrought intentions of those who want to slither through life looking to live comfortably from the fruits of others’ labor.

I love the fate Curzon culls for both Mungai and Goa at the tale’s end! Read it for yourself to discover the hidden treasures and subterfuge taking place under lush jungle and woodland foliage.

Great literature teachers are going to have a delightful time creating learning centers and novel maps and an array of writing assignments for this book! Well done, Curzon!

Other Reviews

QuotesRating: 5 stars – Kudos for Amelia Curzon and her impressive fable, “Mungai and the Goa Constrictor”! Like the other reviewers of this work, I haven’t read an animal fable in years. The last I enjoyed was a film of “Charlotte’s Web” and a while before that, I read and taught “Animal Farm.” Truly, Curzon crafts an unforgettable story that speaks to the soul, reminding us to think for ourselves, to look inward for inspiration that drives us in life and to fearlessly turn back if we find ourselves heading down a path that doesn’t feel right. Readers, this is a story for older children and, perhaps, keenly intelligent 12 to 13-year-olds. The vocabulary will send young readers running for a dictionary, although that is a good thing. The web of intrigue the mysterious Mungai and his sidekick Goa set for the charmingly sweet albeit gullible, two-legged creatures is what could happen Anywhere in the Universe, if people do not learn to look beyond………Quotes
Claudia Moss “TheGoldenGoddess” (Clarkston, Georgia United State
“A Fable That Packs a Powerful Punch”
Quotes5 Star rating – Although, the storyline is altogether different, this reminds me of the characters & personalities found in Charlotte’s Webb. I haven’t read anything of that genre since substituting grade school students more than 20 years ago. The story is reminiscent of a modern day Animal Farm, but yet, not quite. I don’t want to say too much more, as not to spoil the story. It is my opinion that this book is geared more for the adult than a child. I wouldn’t neccessarily consider this a young child’s book at all. Perhaps, for an older child of 12 or 13? Given the vocabulary alone in the the first two pages, is proof enough that it wasn’t meant for little ones under age 5 or 6. Regardless of the delightfully colorful, descriptive characters that any child might find visually appealing & attractive; the more critical part of this book, being the “moral” of the story. I strongly recommend this book for ages 12 & up.Quotes
T. Levesque “The Kindle Queen” (USA
A Modern Day Animal Farm Story?
Quotes5.0 out of 5 stars , February 13, 2012 By – See all my reviews This review is from: Mungai and the Goa Constrictor (Kindle Edition) This book is aimed predominantly at children and so its not something I would normally read or review. However, I have to say that I loved it and can not fault the story or the writing at all. Not since reading Animal Farm as part of my year 7 English class can I recall reading anything from the point of view of animals living in a human like society. And just like with that book, Mungai and the Goa Constrictor takes you on a journey of intrigue and quite self discovery. To a world that, were it not for the fact that the characters are jungle animals, it could be set in any school, town, business, or city near you. Where the top dog is always looking for ways to be bigger and better with less effort, by taking more from the less worldly and more gullible underdog. With great dastardly characters and lovable up risers, and set amongst the glorious, if dQuotes
Cath Cowley – BookChatterCath Reviews
A Cautionary Tale
QuotesRating: 5 stars – Mungai and the Goa Constrictor by Amelia Curzon is a wonderful story. It is allegorical in the tradition of Animal Farm, and I must admit I am a fan of allegories, but it is also a witty and fascinating story filled with a splendid collection of characters. There are important messages in this book. Themes such as responsibility, needs versus desires, and trustworthiness are woven into the plot. There is also wit and whimsy and a cast of thoroughly enjoyable animal characters. Mungai and the Goa Constrictor is a fairly quick read and the action moves swiftly. There is never a dull moment. Many of the interactions between the animals will seem familiar as indeed they are insightful into human society. The animals have a certain irrepressible spirit that shines through, even in the worst situations, which is authentically heartening. ……..read the full review on Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/263536274Quotes
Jason Sullivan (USA) Reviews
An Environmental Allegory for Our Time
QuotesMy Rating: 5.0 Mungai and the Goa Constrictor is a finely crafted fable that can be enjoyed by older children and adults alike. As in most classic fables, we live the bulk of the story through the animals, in this case those of the woodland and jungle, but there are a few two-legs, as the animals refer to them, rounding out the forces of good and evil. The reader never quite discovers what Mungai, the creature who sets the story in motion, is; we just know he’s bad news. For purely selfish reasons, Mungai aligns himself with Goa, a boa constrictor, who for equally selfish reasons, conspires with Mungai to lie to, flatter, entice, and persuade the good animals of the woodland to follow them to the forest to do their bidding with promises ?.. Curzon deftly shows us how easy it is to be taken in by flattery and the promise of more for less, even when the voice in our heart and head is telling us something?.. Read the full review at Goodreads: http://xrl.us/bmg3shQuotes
Patricia Paris’ Book Reviews
A Fable For All Ages!
Advertisements

We’d love to hear your thoughts on this post – why not share them!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s