Guest Post: Donating Dignity by Tara Fox Hall

It’s hard to miss the current global campaign for the fight against cancer, which makes this blog, by my wonderful guest Tara Fox Hall, all the more important.  Tara tells us how we can help in a way that is simple, and for most of us, easily doable.  Welcome Tara, and thank you for being my guest once again.

In my recently published book, Broken Promise, heroine Sarelle cuts off her hair the morning after her breakup with her lover, the vampire Danial. She mentions earlier in the book that she had planned on doing this, but puts it off, as Danial Tara Fox Hall at Letchworthloves her long hair. But once he severs their relationship, she decides to go through with her decision, in no small part as a symbol of her being on her own again. She then puts the braid in an envelope to send to Locks of Love.

This scene was included in the book deliberately to increase awareness of Locks of Love, and other charities that take donated hair and make wigs that are given to those who have lost their own tresses to medical issues. I personally have donated my hair three times now, and intend to keep doing so, as this is a cause I believe in. It’s not difficult to do, if you have a supply of hair ties, barrettes, or headbands to keep lengthening tresses out of the way while they reach the required length. Probably the most difficult Tara Fox Hall before donating her hair to cancer charities  Tara Fox Hall after having her hair cut for cancer charitiespart of the donation process is the one that takes the least amount of time: adjusting to the loss of 10”-12” of hair. I confess I still reach for mine at the small of my back, then panic slightly when there’s nothing  to touch!

Here are several sites to visit, if you are interested in hair donation. Even if your hair is highlighted or colored, as mine is, there are still places that will take it; it just may be sold for cash to help finance the wigmaking, instead of being used for actual wigs. Bear in mind that almost all places below want at least 10” ponytails, 12” and longer being preferred!

Locks of Love  (no processed hair)

Pantene Beautiful Lengths  click on link, then see Donation Form for rules.

Angel Hair Foundation  (will take ANY hair in good condition)

Wigs 4 Kids  (this place will take grey hair)

Don’t feel comfortable losing so muck lock length all at once? Bald yourself, but have a pet? Like to craft, or have livestock? You can still help by saving hair of any length, pet hair, old nylon stockings with or without runs, waste wool, feathers, and natural fiber donors. and sending them in (if your salon does not) to help with oil spills. Details are here

Blurb: Shocked at Danial’s betrayal, Sarelle returns to her old home to consider her options. Yet even as Sar plans a reconciliation with Danial, Terian arrives, confessing his desire. When Theo witnesses Terian and Sar kiss, he angrily confronts Sar, leading to startling consequences. Will Sar’s heart choose Danial, Terian,…or Theo?

Excerpt from Broken Promise:

Danial smiled sadly, and kissed me. He nodded once. “I said I’d let you go, and I will,” he said, taking a deep breath. “I release you from your oath, Sarelle McGarran.”

I felt the tears start to come. Just like that, he’d dissolved us. He paused, and looked at me one last time. Tears were on his face, too.

“Good-bye, Sar,” he said softly. “Take care of yourself.”

He grabbed the clean clothes from my hands and left, the door closing behind him. I heard him grabbing his jacket, and the front door shutting behind him as he left. The sound had all the finality of a gunshot. My legs buckled, and I sank to the floor. My dogs whined, licking my tears as I began to cry.

I don’t know how long I stayed there, sobbing on the floor. It was long enough to feel like I couldn’t get up.

Finally, some time later, I climbed to my feet. I felt better, but all the crying had left me feeling empty, closed off. I felt only fear now, fear I’d made a mistake in letting him go, fear that I’d never feel again what I felt with him.

As I went into my room, I caught sight of myself in the mirror. I looked awful; damp, red and swollen-faced. But I saw the choker still around my neck, the fox eyes winking at me, and felt a rush of hope.

There was still time. I could go to him now, tonight, and tell him I’d changed my mind, that nothing else mattered but being with him for as long as I could.

But I would be lying then. Because I still had reservations and they weren’t insignificant. Besides, I had only told Danial the truth. And he hadn’t heard it, as he was too afraid of my rejection of him.

I looked at myself in the mirror again, and made a decision. Then I went and got a pair of sharp scissors. I put my hair into a long braid, and tied both ends of it. Then I sawed through the braid. I put it aside to send to Locks of Love, as I’d planned to all those months ago. I undid my bobtail; it was too short to be a ponytail now. It hung to just below my shoulders, curling softly. I cut a few shorter pieces in front for shape, and pushed it back. It had a lot more bounce and curl now. The best thing was it would be much easier to take care of.

Buy Broken Promise on Amazon

Buy Promise Me on Amazon

Broken Promise by Tara Fox Hall - Book cover

Promise Me by Tara Fox Hall - Book cover

The Chalet by Tara Fox Hall - Book coverFor info on my recently published book The Chalet, click here:  All other works are listed on Amazon as well!

Tara’s Blog

Tara’s Facebook Page

Tara on Twitter

Website

Email

10 thoughts on “Guest Post: Donating Dignity by Tara Fox Hall

  1. This was a wonderful post and gives people something to think about. Even if we have short hair, there are many other things we can do. Thank you for bringing this to everyone’s attention and adding the links. God bless you.

    • Kudos to my hairdresser then..LOL. The blond is lightened slightly, and the back bottom is a dark red. 🙂 Hugs to you, Mrs. T, and let me know what you find out 🙂 I’m curious now!

  2. It is so awesome that even in your writing you have shared a moment of caring that is so real. Loved the excerpt. Thank you and blessings sent your way 🙂

  3. Hi Tor 🙂 Thanks for the accolades 🙂 I have to admit I found the information about Oil Spill help by accident while researching hair donation online. I hope to donate to that group with my pet hair, too. Hugs!

  4. You’ve inspired me to keep all of my not-so-pup’s sheddings… Sadly, I don’t think my hair will ever be long enough to donate (at its longest, it was only ever 14 or 15 inches from root to tip, and that was from pregnancy hormones), but you’ve definitely given me something to think about. You’re AMAZING!!! Thanks, Tar & Amelia!

    • It’s very good to meet you, too, Paulette. Thank you for the like and congratulations on your recent book. I am looking forward to reading it! From the little I have read, it looks to be a very important book, and I thank you for sharing it with me 🙂

We’d love to hear your thoughts on this post – why not share them!